a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Call the Midwife

images

I saw seasons 1, and 2, then I was determined to read the 3 book series that inspired this PBS success.  It took most of the summer to wait for season 3 from the library, but it finally came!  I didn’t want to see anything that came after season 3, since I heard that the main character leaves the show, and all of the the authors stories were used up.

I read the books by Jennifer Worth, the nurse from the mid 40s- 1960’s who was a midwife in England.  My review isn’t  super, but if you got o Amazon; the reviews are many- three thousand, I think!.

51nYCALetfL

I only know about the 3 books in the series- Call the Midwife, Shadows of the Workhouse, and the last one- Farewell to the East End.   I don’t know about these other two books shown above that  she wrote.  There’s so much history in what Jennifer Worth wrote, and she gives a lot of insight into the workhouses of England.

The Workhouses, also called poor houses, started out not so bad, but the turning point that was awful in the workhouse  history, was when they built huge stone regional workhouses, and consolidated the local ones into these massive huge regional ones that took the soul and spirit out of a person, and made it into a prison system for the poor.

I hope you get a chance to read Jennifer Worth’s books.  Some things are very true to the book,  that are in the PBS series, but some I’m not sure about.   I love nursing history, which is why I enjoyed reading Jennifer Worth’s true stories.  The medical field in general is so fascinating.  It has the ability to help people.  Currently I am learning how to take a person’s blood pressure.

One response

  1. quilt32

    Thank you for the review. I enjoyed the series and have been meaning to read the books.
    Lillian

    September 27, 2014 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

