a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Macaroons

Today I made macaroon cookies because I had all the ingredients and it’s just the thing to make after preparing homemade noodles  which use up 6 egg yolks.

baked macaroons 005

Let me show you how I made these! 

double boiler choc and sugar macaroons 001

First I made a double boiler for sugar and unsweetened baking chocolate.   Then I whipped up the egg whites and powdered sugar, dash of  salt; and added vanilla.  Next,  I mixed the flaked coconut with a spoon.  I had “sweetened” coconut on hand.  Next photo is my pastry bag (quart size freezer bag).

pastry bag macaroons 003

Ready for the oven! (below)

in oven macaroons 002

 I made noodles in the morning using 6 egg yolks, and made macaroons in the afternoon using 6 egg whites.  Next time I want to drizzle the chocolate on with a metal tip thing to make pretty swirls.   I didn’t use any condensed milk like most recipes call for.   Here’s the ingredients:

  • Egg whites
  • powdered sugar
  • vanilla
  • dash of salt
  • sweetened coconut

Wanted to make the pretty French macaroons, but I didn’t have any almonds or almond flour.   I hope these freeze ok.  I can’t eat them all!

Leave a Reply

