a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

chicken nipple waterier- the big one

link to how I got the idea

Found the exact cooler online that  I used for my chicken nipple waterier.  Below is what the chicken nipples looked like all installed with a 11/32 bit.  I used the push in nipples with the rubber grommet.  The handle is sturdy enough to hang over a big pine stick across my big box ( big box is in 2 posts previous to this one).

 

chicken nipple waterer 001

I know the chicks are using it when I hear the click click sound of their beak tapping the metal nipple.  sounds like tap dancing!  IT’s so clean.  I didn’t see any leaks in it… hope it isn’t leaking, but it’s hard to see down there in the box.

I read online that a cooler is best for outdoor use since it insulates the water and keeps it hot or cold for the weather.  What a relief this waterer is!

3 responses

  1. I love this idea but I am worried about how thick the insulation in the cooler is…I am assuming…I have not drilled into one yet.

    April 7, 2013 at 3:12 pm

  2. Sorry for replying 3 months late, but I don’t check the comments as I should. As I remember drilling into the bottom of the coleman cooler, it wasn’t that thick- maybe 1/2 inch? Something like that, and it didn’t take much effort with the drill. Today it’s supposed to get to 100! I have to go out there and fill the cooler with ice. Wish I had more of these coolers, but they are heavy and hard to figure out how to hang them. the one I have is hung on the fence. This is exceptional for baby chicks since they’ll always have clean water, but I use it for my full grown hens too. Poor rooster doesn’t get much water, it’s too low for him. He’s quite taller than the hens.

    July 24, 2013 at 9:31 am

  3. Hi Michelle,
    the insulation in this old blue igloo cooler is very lightweight, like foam board. I was a little apprehensive before drilling, but it was a breeze. Somewhere in the chicken section of the blog, I have a little coleman red lid cooler (with a white base). That particular cooler is all plastic, so all coolers are n to the same. It was still easy to drill through.

    April 11, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

