a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Letters of a Woman Homesteader

imageimage

photo- Elinore Pruitt Stewart author of

Letters of a Woman Homesteader

I thoroughly enjoyed this true account of one woman’s  narrative  of  living in Wyoming in 1909 as a widow with a toddler as she keeps house for a Scottish  cattleman.   It’s the people she meets up with in her community  that are so interesting and this author has a way of writing that is easy to read, although I did find myself looking up words that I wasn’t accustomed with because  of  the early 1900’s  and some  unusual words she used. 

It’s the first book of hers I read and I’d like to read more.  I highly recommend this book, not even so much for the history of  their time period, as for the  lives of the people she encounters.  Everyone has their own story- even you and I.

  She describes what they had for dinner on many occasions; I like that.  Her sense of humor is alive in her  writings, I like that too.  You feel as though you’ve met her as you read her book.  She helped many households; along with two other neighbor ladies, this threesome seemed to come just on time to many needful situations.  I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.  I’d rate it 5 stars with 5 being tops and it’s a free kindle read!

Leave a Reply

