a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Seattle train station neat photos

back in  May-  5/1/2011 and  5/15/2011, I wrote 2 posts: Train to Seattle  and More on the Seattle train station restoration.  Here’s some new photos of how the inside of the train station looked way back when… 1940’s?

Below is how the balcony looked like.  I don’t know what they used it for and I’m still curious. 

train station seattle  oct 2011

Next photo is what the same area  looked like this October 2011 when I was there catching a train.         

train station seattle oct 2011 balcony now

The lunch counter (below)

train station seattle oct 2011 lunch counter

I would have loved to sit here and have a cup of coffee out of those Urns on the counter!  Sorry for not having a current photo of the space as it looks now, but I think I had too many photos in my camera and it stopped storing them even though I did take a picture of the barren area.

See the ice box way on the back wall with a waitress standing in front of it?  The icebox has a plant on top of it.  That exact spot is where the big write up and photos were that I am displaying.  The pillars are still there and the floor is empty- just a big space.

This next photo (below) is very interesting and I can’t place the current location as I was looking around from wall to wall last month when I was there, but you see the parcel room to the left.  Did packages come in on the train?  The booth to the right must have been candy, cigars… things like that sold there.  Is that fresh fruit in boxes on the floor in front of the parcel room?

train station seattle parcel rppm oct 2011

Women’s waiting room

train station seattle oct 2011 waiting room

As I took these photos from pictures on the wall (the wall where the luncheon counter was), I seem to remember that this Women’s waiting room was upstairs.  Isn’t this room neat?  A women’s waiting room- nice idea.  Furniture looks turn of the century which may be the time period of the photo too.

Hope  you enjoyed reliving the past from the Seattle WA train station.

Leave a Reply

