a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Betsy- Tacy series by Maud Hart Lovelace

This is the first of  3  posts in a row on Maud Hart Lovelace’s series Betsy-Tacy

Here’s an even better book review     Another series  for girls- move over American girl books!  I just now discovered them and wanted  to read them in proper succession.  I read the  first one- Betsy Tacy (2nd grade level reading)   then I skipped a few to get to  Heavens to Betsy /Betsy in Spite of Herself   which was two books in one thick paper back from the library; and it was a brand new paperback which are nice and clean.  The only  disagreement I had with the book was the  Ouija board time in one chapter.  It looked like innocent fun, but Ouija boards are not innocent fun.  Time period is before WW1 when Betsy is in grade school through high school.

imageBetsy is starting high school in the book- somewhere in Minnesota, but what I liked about the book was her visit to Milwaukee one Christmas to her Aunts home.  Her Aunt (Dad’s sister)  lives in a German household with Grandma and Grandpa who once  lived in Germany .  The description of the  how they celebrated Christmas was  fun to read about.  Everything was very German- their love for Christmas trees and they go visiting  friends and neighbors to see their decorated trees… the food, the festivities… that particular chapter was the best of the book.   She goes to the Pabst theater and everyone was  speaking German at intermission.   This is about 1906 time wise.

image

Betsy is a junior in high school in this book. (above)

Betsy and Joe (below) was the best book yet.  they are seniors in high school, Julia her sister is away in Germany and  in the book Anna the cook was making nougat which inspired me to want  to make nougat.   For ravioli I only use the yolks of the eggs, so now I’ll save the egg whites and gather enough to make nougat.

image

I’m waiting for the last one from the library- Betsy and the great World/ Betsey’s wedding.  They’ll be the best ones out of the series  I’m sure.

2 responses

  1. Don’t forget Emily of Deep Valley and Carney’s House Party! I think they are my favorites.

    December 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm

  2. Anonymous

    Constance- I haven’t gotten to those yet… but I will .

    December 16, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Leave a Reply

