a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Divine Folie by Jean Patou

imageimage

It’s discontinued- that’s the bad news. The good news is that I pulled out this little  1 ml  sample  from my sample bag and instantly  loved it’s  amber floral richness that many have enjoyed over the years since it came out in 1933.  I must have in my possession  a vintage sample since it is so rich and beautiful.   Henri Almeras  created this and he died in 1965.  His most famous perfume was Joy.

This seems to me so similar to Shalimar because of the richness, heaviness, orange/clove/ amber.    It’s heavy and gorgeous.  Gorgeous is the  best descriptive word for this perfume.  Why would it be discontinued?   I put some on my cotton dress and slip on this hot August day and I get a lot of orange heavy sweetness, but it’s not too sweet. 

These 4 perfumes have a lot in common- 

  1. Divine folie
  2. Shalimar by Guerlain
  3. L’Origian by Coty
  4. Le marc Pour Elle by Andy Tauer

What they have in common is heaviness, sweetness, lushness, ambery, thick scents.  I really go for these, and not only in the winter, but this one blooms to it’s fullest  on this hot August day!

If you ever see this at a thrift store, or anywhere… keep it!

 

Leave a Reply

