a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Homemade Ravioli

3 different ways I make ravioli… scroll down to see all 3.

ravioli freezer

1st way I make it:  meat filling and heat it up in a crockpot.

Here’s my ravioli taken from the freezer.   The ravioli’s are made with: egg yolk, milk, a little olive oil, salt and flour.   You ‘ll find that 2 egg yolks make 2  medium size helpings on a plate.  I get those sealing marks by using a fork around the edges.

july 2011 019

For the filling  I put all this in a little Oscar blender:  left over meat from 4th july  shiskabobs, garlic, little olive oil, salt, did I put in some breadcrumbs?  Can’t remember.

I take them out of the freezer and put them in my 2 qt. crockpot with a can of diced tomatoes.   Delmonte  brand is the freshest tasting, but the most expensive .  I have some chicken raviolis in the freezer too for my next crockpot dinner.  I’ll just add some chicken broth to them and skip the tomatoes.  I also make a good white creamy garlic sauce too!

2nd way I make ravioli:

The above were  made by hand, but this little plastic manual ravioli maker makes good ones too.   I like ricotta filling with  garlic that I crush from one of those garlic hand crushers and a little salt and parsley.   Take a look below.

ravioli again 001

The filling is  ricotta cheese and garlic that I spun around in the little chopper.  Parsley  is sprinkled on top.

ravioli again 002

You  put another slab of noodle dough on top of the first photo and press the plastic gadget together and  this is what you get.  I cut them and then boil the  raviolis, not too long- fresh noodles  only take a few minutes to boil compared to hard store pasta.

Oil the plastic gadget and they come out like a charm.

The tricky part is getting that noodle dough thin enough.  The thinner the dough, the better the ravioli patty.  I made a  flour/milk/butter / garlic sauce  for these raviolis, kind of like an alfrado sauce, but didn’t add any cheese.

3rd way  I make ravioli:

It’s the folded over method,  similar to the first one, except I fold em over and only seal 3 sides.  I sprinkled Italian seasonings on the ricotta clumps after I took the photo.

folded ravioli 1

After you fold the dough over, put your finger between each one to press on the dough to show you where to cut. (below)

folded ravioli 2

cut em  and I trimmed off the excess part on the non-folded end after  I took the photo.

folded ravioli 3

Seal the 3 edges

folded ravioli 4

Don’t boil them too long, only needs a few minutes because the noodle dough is so fresh.

folded ravioli 5

where I watched ravioli being made

2 responses

  1. melissa

    Those all sound fantastic! They look good too!

    August 5, 2011 at 7:52 pm

  2. I’m really inspired together with your writing abilities and also with the format to your weblog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon to see a nice blog like this one these days..

    April 25, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Leave a Reply

