a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

sourdough crackers

Don’t yawn yet, although this must be about my 6th post on crackers, but I can’t resist!  I have some sour dough bread starter that I have kept going for a year now and it’s that starter that makes these crackers so good.

For starters they are good with puréed  avocado/ lemon juice/salt.  those are poppy seeds on top of this batch. 

sourdough crackers

  1. Turn oven on 375 first of all.  I put  about 4 tablespoons worth of sour dough bread starter glob in a mixing bowl with some wheat germ and oat bran and white flour.
  2. add a little water and salt.
  3. mix it around with a butter knife to form a ball.
  4. roll out on a floured  wood cutting board.
  5. divide dough into 4 parts after I roll it out
  6. roll  1 slab of dough out at a time and sprinkle poppy seeds and salt into dough.  try to get the dough thin.  Use  round cookie cutter  to make em round like photo.  Sometimes I just cut in squares.  I didn’t even  have to poke holes in these.
  7. After they are in oven for 5 minutes, I butter each one lightly, then cook for another  7 or 8 minutes.
  8. I store these in a  big enough  glass jar.
3 responses

  1. melissa

    They look yummy! I love your non-descript directions…just like Nonnie. A little of this, some of that….

    Have a great weekend!!

    February 4, 2011 at 5:35 pm

  2. Deb

    Greetings from the deep freeze of WI!

    Hope this finds you well- enjoyed your post and was wondering if you would be willing to share your starter recipe? I’d love to try your crackers!

    The temperature was -17 on my way to work this morning but we are to see warmer temps this weekend.

    Love,
    Deb

    February 10, 2011 at 3:55 pm

  3. Oh boy to you guys have snow and cold. I always look at Wi’s temp on weather.com. http://www.northwestsourdough.com/store/whitestore This link is where I bought my dry starter. I think I bought the Northwest one, but look at the choices! This place is in Western WA. Are you ready to put your spoonful of flour in the dough every day? I don’t mind, and it reminds me to make more crackers!

    Hey do you ever make homemade graham crackers? I go to smitten kitchen (blog).

    February 10, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Leave a Reply

