a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

licorice caramels

I’ve been eating these two licorice  brands lately, so I thought it’s time to make my own.

image  image

good photo of a licorice caramel    I used this recipe (reduced the corn syrup amount to only a 1/2 cup instead of the 1 1/2 cup) for a delicious licorice caramel while including licorice root to the recipe.  Didn’t put any black food coloring  in.

licorice caremels aug 27 10 Just because it isn’t black doesn’t mean it’s not licorice!  There’s no molasses in the caramels and no black food coloring, but there is anise oil and licorice root in there to give it the licorice taste.

licorice root anise Here’s the licorice root in the bag; think it is Frontier bulk brand. In the tube container is the same  licorice root that I ground up; that’s what is in the caramels, along with the  anise extract in sunflower oil in the little bottle.

End result- delicious and licorice tasting but too sweet for me.  I’ll smother it in pecans, more cashews, or walnuts next time as well as adding molasses.  Will add even more anise oil and licorice root next time to make it stronger licorice tasting.

One response

  1. quilt32

    That’s really interesting. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of homemade licorice.
    Lillian

    September 7, 2010 at 7:16 am

Leave a Reply

