a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Drinking Celsius?

image I’m wondering if Coca Cola is less harmful  than Celsius.  Here’s why- read the  ingredients lately?  Do you think there  are ingredients from China in there?  There could be.  Taurine, Glucuronolactone, and Guarana are included in the ingredients, not to mention straight out caffeine. My husband paid 18.00 or a little less for a 15 pack of these recently, so I thought I’d look up the ingredients.

Ingredients from China? How about Glucuronolactone page that shows where you can buy this in big containers It’s a white powder and on the link you can see  a lot of it comes from  Asian sources.   Even when I read about each of these 3 caffeine like substances (Taurine, Glucuronolactone, Guarana), I still don’t understand if they are good or bad for you, but I won’t drink it and it’s way to expensive.

2 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Hi Elizabeth – I just came across your blog while doing my own search for “Celsius”. In response to your questions, Guarana is a plant; the other two (Taurine and Glucuronolactone) are “naturally occuring acids found in mammals and plants”…i’m not entirely sure what that means, but that seems to be the summarized version. I’m not sure as to whether these are more or less healthy than regular soda, but considering that Coke has artifical stuff (high fructose corn syrup, aspartame, Nutrasweet) I may be more likely to put my money on something that comes from plants.

    I’m not sure why you mention that Celsius is “too expensive” though? If you purchased 15 cans for $18, that’s $1.20 per can, which is pretty much what a Coke or Pepsi costs (the Coke machines in my office are $1.25 for a can so this is what I’m going off of).

    May 12, 2010 at 8:27 am

  2. You made a few good points, mainly of the corn sryup that is in Coke. I think in Australia they still use sugar in their Coca Cola since they can get it cheaper than in the US. The price of Celsius and Coca Cola is comparable like you said. I’d rather have my caffeine in tea and coffee. This Celsius reminds me of Mountain dew just because it’s a fruity( orange juice and pear I think) pop with caffeine added.

    May 12, 2010 at 9:09 am

Leave a Reply

