a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

homemade oat crackers

Made some more crackers.  These are oat crackers but if you think it looks like Hard Tack, it probably does.  I’ve read about Hard Tack, the cracker/biscuits that the civil war folks ate.  The army’s Hard Tack was sometimes infested with bugs so it’d float in their coffee….something I read somewhere,  mine doesn’t have bugs in it.   I use half oat flour and half unbleached white flour.  I’ll make the next batch thinner when I roll them out.

This one down below (on the blue) encased in a museum looks like a baby’s teething biscuit.  The original recipe didn’t have any lard or oil in them from what I read (mine do).  You can just imagine the jokes around our house about my oat crackers!  He he he.

Here is the real Hard Tack:
imagephotos from Wikipedia  web site on Hardtack.
One response

  1. Those look so good. I need to make some crackers to go with an extra cheese ball, left over from Thanks Giving. I like thin malt barley crackers.

    December 2, 2008 at 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

