a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

My Rye Crackers

See the caraway seeds on top?

http://recipes.epicurean.com/recipe/18671/rye-crackers.html I used this recipe, but instead of the whole wheat, I used white unbleached flour.  I sprinkled kosher salt on top of each cracker before putting them in the oven.

These crackers go so well with Swiss cheese or cream cheese.   I would have paid probably 3.50 or 4.00 for these in Safeway.   The pampered chef cookie cutter I had came in handy for a nice uniform look.  Who needs a sub sandwich when you’re out and about in town doing errands.  Just pack these with some cheese and grab a coffee to go.

2 day later update: Made another batch, but this time I used lard, olive oil and butter – a third of each to make up 1/4 cup (that’s cutting the recipe in half) and I liked the way they turned out much better than just oil, or just lard.  Try it!

2 responses

  1. quilt32

    These sound interesting. I”ve never found a homemade cracker that was exactly what I was looking for.
    Lillian

    August 12, 2014 at 11:36 am

  2. I’ve been making them lately, but I can’t any more. I’m making rye bread instead. These crackers are crisp, but hard on my teeth. The store ones have a way of making them easy on the teeth. Maybe I can’t get them think enough, and I don’t use doth conditioners like the pros do.
    Save your teeth, and make the bread instead!

    September 6, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Leave a Reply

