a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

A tribute to my Aunt Rose

ebay-030.jpg ebay-018.jpgAunt Rose is the 5th child from the right. (My Dad is the 3rd from the right).

Recently I found some photos of relatives on a CD and this is my Aunt Rose as a young lady taken in her early 20’s at the time of nursing school somewhere in Chicago Illinois which would mark her at almost 90 years old now.  Aunt Rose was the 5th child out of 7 and I was the 5th child out of 7 kids too! always felt a link to her because of that.   Her father was all polish, while her mom was german with a little french.

It was a different time period to grow up in back then, the 20’s and 30’s. Public schools were so very different as were the text books. Wouldn’t it be neat to step back in time and go to school in 1923? My Dad (Aunt Rose’s brother) used to tell me that he ran home from school when he had to use the toilet because they just got modern toilets in the school and the echoing loud noise of the toilet flushing scared him as a boy.

My Aunt Rose helped her younger brother years later when he had Malyeria as an adult in World War 2, caring for him in her home.  Aunt Rose was quite a worker from what I have heard and helped a lot at home since her mom died when she was 7 years old.  Many fond memories I have of her and her sister, my Aunt Mary.  She’s old now and frail but I want to say- thank you Aunt Rose for all the memories I have of you.

Leave a Reply

