a convergence of tea time thoughts for ladies

Away with Patch the Pirate

I hope I never have to sit through a Patch the Pirate sing time again. It could be replaced with selections form Isaac Watts singing book for children “Divine and Moral Songs for children”. One of the songs in it is: “I sing the Almighty Power of God”. I heard this sung by a beautiful Choir years ago and I’ll never forget it because it was a little bit of heaven on earth. Once you hear good sacred music, you can’t go back to singing to a holy God with the world’s music. 

Isaac Watts, Handel and other great hymn writers are set aside for the choice of contemporary music that is so shallow. Shallow music and shallow preaching make shallow Christians. Let’s sing more of the good hymns.

Are we making fun of our 11 and 12 year old children as they sing  little kid songs in front of  a church service for special singing time  ? I think putting a patch the pirate hat on an 11 year old girl or boy is making fun of them. Girls heading for puberty shouldn’t look like 5 year olds with a patch the pirate hat on standing in front of a row of 4 year old kids . I’ve seen this in church and it is awful. Patch the Pirate should be for kids up to about 9 years old–no older. So you want your 10, 11 year old boy to be on his way to manhood? Having him wear a silly hat with 4 year olds isn’t the way to go.

2 responses

  1. Saruto

    Are you kidding me! I’m a young girl and I LOVE patch the pirate!

    June 14, 2010 at 7:39 am

  2. no I’m not kidding you.

    June 17, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Leave a Reply

